The final meeting of the 2015/16 Toastmasters year was held, appropriately enough, on the last day of the year, June 30th.  Outgoing President Laurie Stapleton chose “awards” and “recognition” as theme and word of the meeting.  This was a grand occasion.  In addition to awarding our regular meeting ribbons, we presented four other awards and inducted a new executive to guide our club through the 2016/17 year.

Table Topics Master Zlata Proudlock immersed us right away into the awards mode.  Each Table Topics participant was awarded a special prize, courtesy of a little black surprise filled bag, to which they responded by giving by giving an impromptu acceptance speech.  We were treated to acceptance speeches from winners of the Nobel Peace Prize, Canada’s Top Chef, Best Actor in a film, Toastmasters International Speech Winner and Caledon Citizen of the year.

Meeting attendees then witnessed the swearing in ceremony of the new executive and also the presentation of officer pins.  As a reminder, this is the new executive for the 2016/17 Toastmasters year.

President – Bart Burness

VP Education – Pat Burness

VP Membership – Gemma Duley

VP Public Relations – Ed Risi

Secretary – Zana Maksimovic

Treasurer – Ben Hayhoe

Sergeant at Arms – Phil Coakley

This evening we had a full slate of speakers.  Tianna Delorenzo’s “It’s made from scratch” and the accompanying phyllo pastries made everyone’s mouth water.  Ed Risi wanted us to “Wake up feeling refreshed” by persuading us to purchase an alarm clock suited to our morning moods.  Zana Maksimovic brought back memories of “Cats” by interpreting TS Eliot’s “The Mystery Cat”.  Michael Proudlock’s “It’s about time” landed Einstein’s  Theory of Relativity into our paths of understanding.

The evaluations from Ben Hayhoe, Shao Zhang, Pat Burness and Laurie Stapleton were followed with great anticipation by the awards portion of the meeting.

First, for the regular meeting awards, Zana Maksimovic was voted best Table Topics speaker.  Laurie Stapleton and Pat Burness tied for best evaluator while Tianna Delorenzo was voted best speaker of the evening.

Then we awarded the  triple crown award, or the hat trick of Toastmasters.  Pat and Bart Burness both achieved three designations this past year, namely, Competent Leader, Advanced Leader Bronze and Advanced Communicator Bronze.  Congratulations Pat and Bart.

Finally the yearly awards were announced.  The Extra Mile Award, given to the Toastmaster who goes above and beyond the regular call of duty was awarded to Ed Risi.  Pat Burness was named Toastmaster of the year in recognition of her contributions to our club and beyond.  Two other awards, “Skinny Branches”  and “President’s Solid Rock” will be presented when the recipients are in attendance.

Congratulations to all winners and thank you to all our dedicated members who attended the meeting, prepared speeches or filled other roles.  Special thanks to those who brought tasty snacks.  We are proud that our club is once again President’ Distinguished.   We look forward to another fantastic year.  See you soon!

Best Regards – Zana Maksimovic – Assistant to Webmaster